WarSound.com

South Puget Sound's Tabletop Gamers Forum

Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Do not feed the trolls.

Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Postby osan22 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:40 pm

heya guys. i've had a rules question that's just been bugging me ever since the new edition dropped.

Muegan ra, the dark reaper Pheonix lord, has a special rule called whirlwind of death that allows him to shoot either one of his Maugetar profiles twice in the shooting phase.

The yannari have a special rule called Strength from death that allows a unit who soulbursts to "shoot as if it were your shooting phase.

My question is thus. When muegan Ra soulbursts, does he shoot twice? or just once.
Image
User avatar
osan22
Major
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:19 am
Location: Tenino

Re: Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Postby TwitchyReaper » Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:12 am

His rule says he can fire "twice in each shooting phase" thus, it would allow him to fire it an extra time in a shooting phase irrelevant of SFD. But if he was to use SFD in the same shooting phase he used his Whirlwind of Death rule then he would be able to fire it 3 times in a shooting phase.
TwitchyReaper
Corporal
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Postby DylanGould » Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:00 am

Best bet is usually to quote the actual rule text...you'll get more accurate responses, and sometimes just typing it out helps you notice something you were overlooking.
DylanGould
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Postby Morendie » Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:46 am

If it says shoot as if its in the shooting phase, then the other ability should work just fine
- If you are going to lose, then make sure they have a costly victory.
User avatar
Morendie
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:55 am

Re: Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Postby osan22 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:20 pm

I did quote the rules pretty much verbatium dylan, but for a more precise reading here you go

Muagan ra- Whirlwind of death Maugan Ra can fire the Maugetar twice in each Shooting phase

Strength from death
This ability is common to all Ynnari Infantry and Ynnari Biker units and the yncarne. each time a unit is completely destroyed within 7" of one or more units with this ability, except in the Morale phase, pick one of those units to make a Soulburst action. That unit can Immediately do one of the following, even if it has already done so in this turn:

The unit can move as if it were your movement phase. It can advance or Fall back as part of this move.

The unit can , if it is a Psyker, Immediately attempt to manifest a single psychic power, as if it were the Psychic phase.

The unit can shoot as if it were your Shooting phase, even if it advanced or Fell back this turn

The unit can charge as if it were the Charge phase, even if it advanced or fell back this turn(Enemy units can fire Overwatch as normal_. A unit cannot do this if it is within 1" of an enemy unit.

The unit can fight as if it were the Fight phase.

Note that this means that a unit may be able to shoot or fight twice in the same turn.

A unit can only make a soulburst action once per turn.
Image
User avatar
osan22
Major
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:19 am
Location: Tenino

Re: Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Postby DylanGould » Wed Jul 12, 2017 6:12 pm

osan22 wrote:Muagan ra: Whirlwind of death: Maugan Ra can fire the Maugetar twice in each Shooting phase

Strength from death (Soulburst action): The unit can shoot as if it were your Shooting phase. Note that this means that a unit may be able to shoot or fight twice in the same turn.

The related question is does "Maugan Ra can fire the Maugetar twice in each Shooting phase" limit his shots to two, taking precedence over Strength From Death?

TwitchyReaper wrote:His rule says he can fire "twice in each shooting phase" thus, it would allow him to fire it an extra time in a shooting phase irrelevant of SFD. But if he was to use SFD in the same shooting phase he used his Whirlwind of Death rule then he would be able to fire it 3 times in a shooting phase.

Why three times? Is there an unquoted rule that applies? By what has been quoted, he could fire Muagatar either two times of four times (depending on if Whirlwind is an absolute cap), or for sure he can fire Muagetar twice then another weapon once from the Soulburst.
DylanGould
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Soulburst and Muegan Ra

Postby Unorthodoxy » Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:03 pm

since it says you shoot as if it were the shooting phase, all rules relevant to the shooting phase work. So Maugan Ra would fire twice when triggered by the Ynarri B.S.
Hold out bait to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and then crush him.
-Sun Tzu, the Art of War
http://www.40kunorthodoxy.blogspot.com

Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake.
-Napoleon Bonaparte
Unorthodoxy
Major
 
Posts: 4818
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:53 pm


Return to Rules Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest